The Servant Heart of Ministry

I was sharing time with a young person yesterday (shock, horror!) trying to impress upon him the idea that at his age (early 20’s) he needs to be taking responsibility for himself and his life, and not expecting others to do it things for him.  He asked me if I was talking about “looking after number one”.  I said no, because “I wouldn’t be sta here talking to you if I believed that”.I’ve recently been introduced to the Klout website.  This is a site that you can link your blog, Facebook and Twitter accounts to in order to get a rating that tells you how influential you are on the net compared to your friends and peers.  For the first few days I found myself getting completely wrapped up in my web interactions for no ther benefit than to try and increase my Klout score.  Problem is that we can fall into the same trap in other areas of our ministry.  Our goal is not to serve the needs of young people, the church or even God.  But instead we spend time trying to become mini Christian celebrities, looking for the next invitation to preach, teach or write.  Before we know it we are building our own little empires that revolve around ourselves, jealously looking at those who we perceive are more “successful” than we are.  I’m not trying to preach to the converted, I’ve been there.  But this is not where ministry is at and not what God requires of us.

Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand. (The Message Phil 2:3-4)

Why do we do what we do?  What is our real motive?

For more on this subject, check out a great post by Rachel over at “Youth Leaders Academy” which can be read here.

Leave a Reply

